John Steenhuisen elected DA Leader

News Politics

Tebogo Msimanga|

John Steenhuisen has been elected to lead the DA full-time for the next three years.

Steenhuisen was an interim leader since November last year after Mmusi Maimane resigned.  Steenhuisen defeated Mbali Ntuli at the DA virtual congress at the weekend. He obtained 80% of the votes.

Helen Zille is the DA’s federal council chairperson. DA MP Dion George has been retained as the party’s finance chairperson.

James Masango and Thomas Walters have been elected unopposed as the two deputy federal council chairpersons.

In his acceptance speech, Steenhuisen said people do not want to live a life of dependency on a failing and corrupt state.” People are tired of being told what to do by rulers who only look out for themselves.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *